gamobo: manifesto

Hey peeps!

gamobo stands for games, movies, and books; three things that I love. This blog is meant to give me a space to just talk about them. Most of the time I’ll do reviews, and sometimes with video games I’ll point out tips and tricks I’ve noticed. Here are a few short summaries of what I enjoy and look for in each category:

Games

I believe the primary purpose of video games is to entertain. What’s special about video games is that do so as a medium with a high degree of interactivity. Most of the time they test our hand-eye coordination and reaction time, and other times they challenge our problem-solving skills. The most important thing is that it should be fun, no matter what they’re doing and how they’re doing it. An excellent story/world immersion is usually required for players to become invested in a game, while music and gorgeous graphics can be merely icing on the cake.

I grew up with Nintendo, starting with the SNES, and have had every Nintendo console since then, up to the Wii U. I also joined Team Sony with the PS3, and I have a PS4 as well (specifically bought for Bloodborne). Any video games I talk about here will most likely be limited to these consoles, as well as titles on the 3DS.

My top five games of all time:

1. Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island

2. Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest

3. Demon’s Souls

4. Super Smash Bros. Melee

5. Chrono Trigger

Movies

My favourite genre is action. As with games and books I watch movies to immerse myself in a world/story that is interesting or thought-provoking. Plot is the most important element for me, but recently I’ve been paying attention to films that have excellent cinematography. The way a scene is filmed, the music accompanying the moment, the predominant colours and shapes of the shot, what the camera focuses on or blurs out, all of these details, big and small, can help contribute to the overall film’s identity, and a movie must be aware of its own identity if it wants to be memorable.

My top five movies of all time:

1. V for Vendetta

2. Forrest Gump

3. The Matrix

4. The Godfather

5. Interstellar

Books

I love the written word. Books are stories in their penultimate purest form. Out of the these three forms of media I actually love books the most. They are the easiest way for me to get lost for an hour or two. I think my affinity for books lies in the fact that so much is left for the imagination. Nothing is defined by what you see on a screen, and so you are free to envision people and the world they live in, all while being guided by a narrative that can be pleasantly or compellingly written. I am partial to the genres of Victorian literature, historical fiction, and urban fantasy.

My top five books of all time:

1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

2. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

3. It by Stephen King

4. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

5. The Masters of Rome by Colleen McCollough

And there it is. I don’t know how frequently I’ll update, but I’ll post whenever I have a thought. Sometimes you’ll disagree with me, other times we’ll get along. Let’s just have fun while we can, yeah?

Leave a Reply

